314-837-6777 info@stlchristian.edu


From its inception, St. Louis Christian College has provided Bible-centered higher education to equip men and women as leaders who impact the world for Christ. The College was founded to meet the ministry needs of the St. Louis region. In June 1956, three St. Louis ministers met to discuss a common concern: the need for leadership in the churches of the St. Louis region. Luther Perrine, Hubert Burris, and Vernon Newland reviewed the evangelistic decline of the previous quarter century and proposed to found a Bible college as a “center of evangelism” for the St. Louis region. Out of that proposal, St. Louis Christian College was established.

In the first year, faculty responsibilities were distributed among eleven ministers. Nineteen students enrolled. In the following years, full-time teachers were appointed and an 11.5-acre campus was secured at the present location. Luther Perrine became the first president in 1957. Russell Boatman became academic dean in 1962, serving in that capacity through June 1978. Glenn Bourne became president in June 1966. He served in that capacity through June 1978. St. Louis Christian College attained accreditation with the American Association of Bible Colleges and enjoyed growth in facilities, faculty, enrollment and influence during the Bourne/Boatman administration.

Thomas McGee succeeded Glenn Bourne as president in August 1979. President McGee was formally inaugurated as the third president of St. Louis Christian College on August 16, 1980. During his visionary, dedicated, and able administration, the College continued to refine and revise programs to achieve the mission of equipping men and women to impact the world for Christ.

The 1995-1996 academic year marked the beginning of Dr. Kenneth Beck’s tenure as the fourth president of St. Louis Christian College, continuing until 2004. Dr. Beck’s tenure with the college was highlighted by significant enhancement of the institution’s facilities providing students with a comfortable environment in which to learn.

During a two-year transitional period (2004-2006), a five-member presidential team which included Ben Merold, Dr. Paul Newland, Keith McCaslin, Dr. Kendall Brune, and Dr. Jamie Lankford led the College while the Board of Trustees pursued presidential candidates.

In June of 2006, Dr. Guthrie Veech accepted the call from the Board of Trustees to become the fifth president in the college’s 50-year history.  He brought a balance of academic expertise from the college classroom and ministry experience from diverse local congregations to the role of President.  Dr. Veech concluded his ministry with the College in June 2016.

For the duration of the 2016-17 school year, St. Louis Christian College was led by a four-person Presidential Transition Team.  The team members that served from July-December 2016 were: Don Sanders, Dr. Ken Johnson, Pamela Ralls, and Dr. Mike Pabarcus. Team members that served from January-May 2017 were: Dr. Ken Johnson, Dr. Ladd Haverly, Harold Merritt and Scott Womble.

In June 2017, Terry Stine became the sixth president of St. Louis Christian College. Mr. Stine came from Boise Bible College, where he began as Professor of Missions in 2005 and then served as President from 2007-2017.